Have you been arrested? If the answer is yes to this question, then you need to protect yourself and hire an experienced criminal defense attorney. The Nold Law Firm will protect your constitutional rights in the face of a system that can oftentimes feel like a trampling of your rights. People get arrested and charged with a wide variety of crimes. Even some traffic tickets can result in an arrest. Other arrests fall into two categories: Misdemeanors and Felonies. Most people know that a felony is more serious than a misdemeanor, but where that line is drawn varies by state. Here is a brief rundown of just some of the charges that The Nold Law Firm can help you with.
What is a Misdemeanor in Illinois?
In Illinois, a misdemeanor is defined as any crime which is punishable by less than one year of jail time. Misdemeanors include:
- Domestic Battery
- Suspended or Revoked Driver’s License
- Criminal Damage to Property
- Disorderly conduct
- Aggravated speeding
- Theft Under $500 and Retail Theft
Misdemeanors are further split into three classes, as follows:
- Class A. Up to 364 days in jail and fines of up to $2,500.
- Class B. Up to 6 months in jail and fines of up to $1,500.
- Class C. Up to 30 days in jail and fines of up to $1,500.
Misdemeanors might also come with supervision or conditional discharge requirements, as well as court costs. Depending on the outcome of the case, some misdemeanors may be expunged or sealed, while others remain on your record forever and can be used to enhance future charges to a felony.
What is a Felony in Illinois?
A felony is any offense that can result in a jail sentence of a year or more. Felonies cover a broad range and can include:
- Aggravated Battery
- Possession of a Controlled Substance
- Aggravated DUI
- Aggravated Driving on a Revoked License
- Aggravated Domestic Battery
- Fraud and Forgery
- Unlawful Use of a Weapon
Like misdemeanors, felonies in Illinois fall into one of several classifications:
- Class M. This specifically refers to murder. Jail sentence of 20 to life and up to $25,000 in fines.
- Class X. Jail sentence of 6 to 30 years and up to $25,000 in fines.
- Class 1. Jail sentence of 4 to 15 years and up to $25,000 in fines.
- Class 2. Jail sentence of 3 to 7 years and up to $25,000 in fines.
- Class 3. Jail sentence of 2 to 5 years and up to $25,000 in fines.
- Class 4. Jail sentence of 1 to 3 years and up to $25,000 in fines.
Illinois does not have the death penalty at the state level, having struck it down in 2011.
Many felonies can receive probation or even be reduced to a misdemeanor, but you need an experienced criminal defense attorney to help defend your constitutional rights to make that happen.
Whether you are facing felony or misdemeanor charges, you need a good lawyer to help you fight the government. To find out more, call 262-719-4442 or fill out the easy form below to start protecting your rights.